What it’s really like

So, before you get married, when wading through single-dom, people like to help you paint a picture of what being married is like.  Mostly, they like to dispel all misconceptions/disillusions etc.

Things like,

“You know, there are a lot of adjustments that come with getting married.”. . . i.e. the whole squeezing the toothpaste thing. (which way do you squeeze the toothpaste?  Oh, that’s different from me, let’s get mad)

“There are just going to be things that bug you about the other person, that’s okay.”

etc. etc.

Well, after a good three weeks of being married, I haven’t noticed a single thing about Devon that bugs me.  In fact, on the contrary, every day, I notice more things that I love.  I think the ultimate question is “What is your attitude going into it?”  What are you looking for?  Are you trying to find the things that bug you?  It’s pretty easy to not be bugged.  Why waste energy being annoyed?  Isn’t it easier just to work on your own faults?  I don’t know about you, but I sure have enough of those to focus on.  That keeps me busy enough.

I don’t mean to say that I know everything about marriage, because I don’t.  I am actually just about as novice as it gets, but I’m learning.  I’m learning that your marriage will not be like anyone else’s.  Advice only works to an extent, because really no one has a marriage like yours and it’s supposed to be that way.

In short, I love being married to Devon.  It’s just about the most awesome thing that has every happened to me.

One thought on “What it’s really like

Leave a Reply

