On Being a Mother

In becoming a mother, I’ve thought a lot about what it all means. At first, I was overwhelmed. It seemed that being a mother meant a constantly changing body, pain, sacrifice, no sleep, and immense responsibility. I was swamped with caring for a newborn baby and bewildered by his needs. But in the past month, I’ve learned some things, and I’m starting to see what this is all about.

Being a mother does mean sacrifices. But we are designed for them. I know that sounds funny, but as women, we are blessed with the ability to make these sacrifices. That doesn’t mean they aren’t hard, but it does mean that tied up in the difficulty are joy and blessings. As a physical example, labor was intense. It was painful and required so much focus, but the feeling as my baby came into the world was incredible. My body was made to accomplish the task and it required work, but it was natural.

Being a mother is women’s divine role. It is not a career path or a casual choice. Neil L. Anderson mentioned this quote in his conference address entitled, “Children.” He referred to a blogger that said the following:

“Motherhood is not a hobby, it is a calling. You do not collect children because you find them cuter than stamps. It is not something to do if you can squeeze the time in. It is what God gave you time for.”7

Since becoming a mother, I’ve felt the most incredible fulfillment and joy. Even with tiny things like taking a nap with my baby laying on my chest or successfully clipping his tiny nails, it just feels right. Like I said before, all of this still doesn’t mean that it’s easy, but I know that this is what I was put on the earth to do.

Contrary to what many in the world say to denigrate woman’s nurturing role in the home, we as women should not feel insecure. We should feel empowered. We are the greatest and most impactful teachers. By uplifting and supporting our families, we ultimately accomplish the most. I’m so grateful for the title of “helpmeet” given to women in the Bible because it means I have the ability and responsibility to help my loved ones meet their goals.

I am grateful for a God who instructed that “By divine design, fathers are to preside over their families in love and righteousness and are responsible to provide the necessities of life and protection for their families. Mothers are primarily responsible for the nurture of their children. In these sacred responsibilities, fathers and mothers are obligated to help one another as equal partners” (Family Proclamation) I am grateful because I know that God gives us these roles because they will bring us the most happiness.

I hope I have been able to adequately express my feelings about motherhood. I think a mother’s role is hard to understand and is best interpreted on an individual level. No person is the same and therefore no mother is the same, but I know that motherhood is vitally important and can bring so much joy. Even I have felt it in the mere two months of experience I’ve had.

So, go hug your mom or if you are one, remember, YOU are doing God’s work :)

3 thoughts on “On Being a Mother

  1. Pheobe I love love your feelings about being newlyweeds and deciding to have children. I have had some personal questions of mine answered while reading your posts. thanks for always being such a wonderful example and friend to me. :)

Leave a Reply

