Pregnancy #2

In some ways, this pregnancy has really flown by. I can’t believe that in about a month, I will be holding my baby girl on the outside! But in other ways, I feel like I’ve been pregnant forever. (can you relate mommas?).

Pregnancy is really a mystery. I was talking to a pregnant friend’s husband, trying to provide some comfort. She is having a rather difficult time with her first trimester. I wanted to be able to assure him that sickness would go away or that she would definitely be able to accomplish all her goals for pregnancy and birth. But I couldn’t say any of that, because it wouldn’t be true.

Pregnancy and birth remind you that you are not in control. They remind you that some things you can’t control. They remind you about faith and endurance.

For me, this pregnancy has been entirely different than my pregnancy with Arthur. Morning sickness was more stubborn, lasting for the first solid half of the pregnancy. I’ve been more achy as well. But I’ve also learned how important it is to take care of my body. This time, naps are crucial, as is mild exercise. Before I became pregnant, I learned that I have emotional and psychological needs and limitations and this pregnancy has taught me that in order to be successful in the marathon of young motherhood, I also need to take care of my body. Growing a baby and tending a toddler are incredibly physical activities that I can’t accomplish without preparation.

As we get closer and closer to becoming a family of four, I realize that the only way I can be the mother they need me to be and the wife my husband deserves is to place myself solidly in the Lord’s hands. Because the reality is, with sickness and laundry and surprises, I can’t do it all. But He can. 

Leave a Reply

