Real Intent

Remember when I wrote about our family goal of being intentinonal? Well today, I stumbled upon this talk today by Randall L. Ridd. Elder Ridd talks about how doing simple things can help us live our lives with real intent.

“Living with ‘real intent’ means understanding the ‘why’ and being aware of the motives behind your actions. Socrates said, ‘An unexamined life is not worth living.’ Ponder how you spend your time and ask yourself regularly, ‘Why?’ This will help you develop the ability to see beyond the moment. It’s far better to look ahead and ask yourself, ‘Why would I do that?’ than to look back and say, ‘Why, oh, why did I do that?’ If the only reason why is that God wants you to, that’s reason enough.” -Elder Ridd

“The compounding effect of daily disciplines, with purpose and real intent, can make a big difference in all areas of your life,” he said. “It can mean the difference between struggling through an ordinary life or being immensely successful and filling the measure of your creation.” – Elder Ridd

The more I try to live with real intent, the more I realize that it’s not something that I am going to master in the course of a month (or a year!). Living with real intent is something I need to decide daily. On days when I’m exhausted and Arthur is sick (again), it is a particularly hard decision to make, but I’m sure if I keep trying, I will only get better at being intentional!

3 thoughts on “Real Intent

  1. Phoebe this is great. I think when we understand why being a mother is so important, we move forward with confidence and and are free to give it or best effort and sacrifice. We become immune to what others think knowing the Lord knew what he was doing when he asked his wise, creative, faithful, intelligent daughters to raise his children. He wanted the very best for the most important work:) And with his help we can do it well.

Leave a Reply

