Motherhood is. . . Perpetual

IMG_3456Last night was rough. Lucy woke up several times and struggled to go back to sleep. I was so afraid that she would wake up Arthur that I moved her to our room and yet, Arthur still woke up at the crack of dawn. I just wanted to sleep.

This happens sometimes. Sometimes kids wake up too early (ahem. Lucy 4:00am a few weeks ago). Sometimes they are cutting teeth or coming down with a cold or an ear infection. Sometimes they are growing or scared. Sometimes you have a cold or pneumonia or morning sickness. Sometimes you just want to sleep.

The problem is that motherhood can’t really be put on hold. Mom duties just keep coming. Diapers need to be changed. Children need to be fed. Dishes need to be washed. Sometimes it’s daunting. This morning, all I wanted to do was to crawl back into my bed and lock my kids in their room. But we had no milk or eggs. Or much of anything else, so grocery shopping couldn’t wait.

On days like this, I used to shut down. Pajamas all day. Let Arthur watch a bunch of TV shows. Be in denial. Look at my phone. But at the end of the day I was still frustrated, there were dirty dishes and  I had wasted a whole day. After a few of these days, Devon gently suggested that I could choose how I wanted to feel. I didn’t have to let what I couldn’t control overhaul what I could control.

Lately I’ve been trying to take control of my bad days by reading my scriptures, pray, putting down my phone, and planning the day. Yes, mom duties never end, but sometime those responsibilities can help you push through. Keep your head up. Remind yourself, if you can, how good it feels to have purpose. Do something nice for yourself (yummy breakfast, read a book during naptime, go on a walk). You deserve it! Push through and make it good.

Don’t you quit! You keep walking. You keep trying. There is help and happiness ahead. Some blessings come soon. Some comelate, and some don’t come till Heaven. But for those who embrace the gospel of Jesus Christ,the come. It will be all right in the end. Trust God, and believe in good things to come.” Jeffery R. Holland, Good things to Come

How do you handle rough days?

One thought on “Motherhood is. . . Perpetual

  1. YES YES YES! On all accounts yes. This is a lesson that I’ve been learning myself lately and I have been SO much happier by choosing to be happier instead of letting the bad days be bad the whole day and sulking.

Leave a Reply

