Making a Home: good reads

IMG_1782In the past year or so, I’ve gotten more and more interested in making conscious choices about making our living space into a home. Throughout college, I was really good at not caring about my surroundings–to the point of having really bad dishwashing habits. But gradually, I’ve been learning how important (and fun!) it is to make your home somewhere you actually want to spend time.

So I’m making progress. I’m trying to build better habits and make better choices about what I put in my home and what I see every day. Thanks, in part, to some reading I’ve done in the past few months. So, if you are trying to make your home a happier, more organized, more peaceful place to be, I’d recommend these three books to inspire you and get you started.

  1. The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up// So, you’ve probably heard about this one, but if you haven’t read it, it’s definitely worth your time. Her method, if followed strictly, isn’t particularly friendly to families with children… or at least, I couldn’t follow it exactly with two toddlers underfoot. But, her mantra, “Does it bring you joy?”has completely simplified my relationship to things.

 

  1. Design Mom// Beautiful, beautiful photos and great tips for living with kids. Not all of her suggestions were useful for me because she is writing for people who have houses, or at least more space than a two-bedroom apartment.

 

  1. Simple Matters// Favorite. I love Erin Boyle’s emphasis on simplicity. This is one is particularly good for apartment dwellers, but the principles apply in any situation.
One thought on “Making a Home: good reads

Leave a Reply

