Feeling Pregnant

“How are you feeling?”

This is a question I get asked often. It’s a stock pregnant-lady question, but simultaneously one of the most empathetic and thoughtful things you can ask. The question acknowledge that sometimes in pregnancy, you aren’t feeling okay, that pregnancy is fraught with feelings.

It’s also a hard question to answer because there are so many feelings. Should I say, “Today, I’m feeling tired. My back hurts. I didn’t get enough sleep.” Or should I say the equally true, “I’m feeling better. I’m excited.” Every situation, every day, every asker merits a different response. I try to stay positive but sometimes there is nothing more soothing than admitting to a dear friend that pregnancy is a struggle–a struggle I chose and a struggle I want, but hard just the same.

So, if you were to ask me how I am feeling, I would say: I’m excited. I can’t wait to meet this new little person that is about to enter our family. I’m slightly nervous about what having three children will be like. I’m tired. I’m getting heavier. I’m slowing down. But mostly, I’m making peace with my ballooning belly and all that comes with it.

Leave a Reply

