When You Just Can’t Do it Anymore

IMG_8727I’ve been thinking a lot about optimism and being proactive lately. I think I’ve been making progress, but there is one situation that is particularly hard for me. What do you do when you feel so overwhelmed/overstimulated/exhausted that your skin hurts? Have you felt that? It’s those times that I find myself doing things I later regret. But at those times I feel things so strongly that I don’t know how to get back to a good place.

Recently I put the question to my husband and he thoughtfully gave these two ideas for staying on track:

  1. Stay calm. This is probably a no-brainer, but it’s also so applicable. Just don’t raise your voice. Just take deep breaths and focus on not losing your cool.
  2. Lower your expectations. Assess your situation. Are you trying to do too much at once? Is that what is causing you so much frustration? Slow down. Do less. Scale back.

While Devon is out of town this week, I’m trying to focus on these two things. I can be happy. I can be in control. I can choose joy in every circumstance. And you can too.

Leave a Reply

