To make: Peanut Butter

A little while ago, I ventured into peanut butter making. It was so easy! But I also couldn’t get the consistency quite right and my family didn’t think it was sweet enough. (Curse you store bought corn syrup peanut butter!)

Well, I tried again a couple weeks ago with great success! Here’s what I did: IMG_2551 2

  1. Buy peanuts (and molasses and canola oil or oil of your choice). In my previous experiments, I’d tried buying raw peanuts that I roasted myself, but I never had success that way. So I just go with the roasted, unsalted variety. IMG_2557
  2. Dump peanuts in food processor (or perhaps blender? I haven’t tried it that way, but if your blender is powerful, it might work.) I usually blend about a quart of peanuts to make a pint of peanut butter.

IMG_2558IMG_2559IMG_2560IMG_2561

  1. Process! Let the machine go and watch the peanuts get crumbly and mix until it forms a ball. IMG_2563
  2. Add a few tablespoons of canola oil and a tablespoon or so of molasses. You want to add enough oil so that it’s the consistency that you like and enough molasses to make it tasty! IMG_2565
  3. Enjoy! (or if you are like me, eat by the spoonful. In fact, I’m going to get some right now.)

IMG_2568IMG_2569Bonus ideas:

Try other oils. Peanut oil sounds like an obvious choice. Canola oil is just what I have on hand.

Try other sweeteners. Honey might be good. Or agave or whatever tastes good to you.

Add chocolate. (Wahhht?!) I’ve done this in the past. You can add  some melted chocolate for a Nutella-like spread.

Try other nuts. I haven’t done it before because other nuts can be expensive, but almond butter? cashew butter? Go nuts!

Leave a Reply

