Expectant

Processed with VSCOcam with b5 preset
from pregnancy with Lucy, but I look pretty much the same.

I am

a filled vessel, swelling and bulging at the seams.

wading through deepening mud. Slowing down but working harder.

July. Heavy with humidity and heat. Swimming through the air.

a slug, slipping through my own skin. unfolding onto my bed.

• • •

I am

a roller coaster, climbing to its apex. Unable to see the other side, but mounting in anticipation.

an unfinished rhyme, leaving words waiting on your lips.

rounding the curve, finish line in sight.

• • •

I am

not there yet.

Leave a Reply

